34 Comments

DIY: Cutoff Shorts with Flair!

Who wears short shorts? Here in the Arizona desert, we are approaching triple digit weather so I sure do!

Recycle and reuse your old jeans by creating a pair of much needed shorts for the summer. The DIY which Iย show below is a very easy way to make yourself a new pair of funky shorts from and old pair of denim.
DIY Short Shorts
1. Here’s what you’ll need:
Fabric of your choice (1/4 yard will do)
One pair of old jeans (I used some old Levi’s)
One pair of shorts that fit you well (as a template for your new pair)
Ruler, Scissors, Tailor’s Chalk
Pins, Needle and Thread
DIY Shorts 2 DIY Shorts 3
DIY Shorts 4
2. Place the well-fitting pair of shorts over the pants. Make sure to align the crotches of both pants perfectly. Pin the inseams together carefully so they don’t move.
3. Once the pins are securely in place, mark along with the chalk.
4. I like to leave 2 more inches because with a wash and fraying, the length will shrink.
5. Once you have snipped off the legs, throw the new shorts in the washer and drier.
DIY Shorts 5 DIY Shorts 6
6. Attachย your fabric to your new shorts with a few pins to keep it from moving around.
7. Trim off excess fabric around the pocket.
8. Tuck in any excess fabric on the sides and replace the pins.
9. Start sewing the fabric to your shorts – I used the natural seams of the shorts as a guideline.
The result worn with a chambray-style sleeveless top by ASTR for Nordstromย and DIY bracelets.
DIY Shorts DIY Shorts
NatSignature
34 comments on “DIY: Cutoff Shorts with Flair!

  1. Natasha it is so cute ๐Ÿ™‚ love it.

  2. Lovely idea! I always cut up my jeans even the designer ones….Jyune xoxo

  3. great DIY, love how the shorts turn out ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Wow, these shorts have just been revisited in such a fab way ! Love it (a lot !). XXX

  5. These look great! ** Thanks for the tips =)

  6. Very cute! I think I am going to do this to a skirt that I have! ๐Ÿ™‚
    Zhenya
    http://beingzhenya.com

  7. Holy Flair! How creative are you? Love the look and seems like a DIY I might even be able to do!

  8. Wow, your shorts look great! (And that’s coming from someone who usually doesn’t wear shorts except for tennis.) I love how you added the print fabric– great way to use up scraps!

  9. It looks great! I love the fabric you choose, the colors are perfect for warm days ๐Ÿ™‚

  10. Wow, you are so talented, I love the added material nice job!

  11. Seriously!!? You guys have done it AGAIN!!! Such an amazing fabric choice and it works sooo well with so many outfits!!! You’re such pros!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  12. I have nominated you for the Shine On Award! Check out the details on my blog: http://stylesalvation.wordpress.com/2013/05/01/shine-on-award/

  13. That is a hot topic for me right now – I have a pair of worn out jeans and I want to cut them to denim shorts. The tutorial was really useful.

  14. I’d love to try this and add a knit or lace fabric to my shorts!
    http://www.LoveNiki.com

  15. Those shorts look fabulous. You really make me want to learn how to sew. They look great!

  16. Wow, I haven’t see anyone done this before! So CREATIVE!!!

  17. […] of my favorite blog posts by the ladies was a DIY: Cutoff Shorts with Flairย post. I liked how the ladies laid out the post and demonstrated how easy it was to create your own […]

Leave a Reply

