46 Comments

OOTD: How to Wear Striped Maxi Dresses (Part One)

20130608_193803

Dress: Calvin Klein / Sandals: Forever / Envelope clutch: fashion Q /                               Earrings & Bracelets: Burlington Coat Factory / Sunglasses: Kenneth Cole Reaction

A wise woman (my mother) always said to flaunt my assets, but to be careful and pick only one to show off at a time. Maybe this is why I love maxi dresses so much. They allow me to do just that, and this black and white, multi stripe Calvin Klein creation, here, is quickly becoming my favorite Summer dress.

This asymmetrical stripe maxi dress is classically chic and super comfy. The black background and the length elongates the body, while the simple cut and strategically placed thin stripes, give an illusion of instant slimming, hiding all my imperfections. Whenever I wear this fun maxi dress, I can’t stop twirling. The soft material of the quality fabric drapes gracefully and has nice weight, hugging me well in all the right places. I love how I can just throw it on and shimmy out of the house feeling feminine and fabulous.

Floor sweeping striped maxi dresses (and skirts) are essential summer wardrobe items for day and night wear. They can easily crossover from day scene in strappy gladiators, to a night out just by adding a jacket and some sexy wedges. Don’t be afraid to add a belt to your dress, or even a pop of color with a bright accessory, but do be careful to not over-accessorize! Stripes tend to be dramatic, so a little bling goes a looong way. 

Next time I will show you how to wear a striped maxi dress with some major DRAMA  ;)!

20130608_193904 20130608_193309 20130608_193611 20130608_193238 20130608_193340 20130608_193249 20130608_193254 20130608_193345 20130608_193518(0) 20130608_19333220130608_193543

In part two of this post,  I will show you how to ‘glam up’ your stripes 😉

20130706_141417

OOTD: How to Wear Stripped Maxi Dresses (Part Two) | FreeUrCloset

signature

46 comments on “OOTD: How to Wear Striped Maxi Dresses (Part One)

  1. Lovely dress, makes you look so romantic!

  2. You ladies can pull of the maxi so well!

    Fabulous!

  3. Nice dress! I like how you put it all together.

  4. Love maxi dresses and black and white combo – together this is wonderful!

  5. That is such a great dress and you look fabulous in it!
    xo

  6. what a gorgeous dress + great advice from your mom! I love that!

  7. Love this dress and those shoes…You rock this look!

  8. This fabulous dress (I love stripes !) definitely suits you : you just look STUNNING, and the accessories are perfect for this graphic look ! XXX

    • Don’t know about stunning, but slimming definitely, lol. This dress has just the right stripes and perfect weight for the drape. I can’t stop swirling in it. Thanx hun.

  9. You look so beautiful and the dress is lovely. I Just nominate you for the Best Moment Award & you can check it up here: http://kimberlyakinola.wordpress.com/2013/06/11/best-moment-award/ ciao! xoxo

  10. You definitely know how to wear strips, stylish girl!!! Love this black & white look! xxx

  11. Looks like a perfect dress on you … lovely.

  12. Looks lovely on you! I really like it!

  13. WOW, what a post!! Love the outfits, and such colourful, beautiful photos!! Thanks for stopping by and liking my blog! You’ve got a new follower in me! xo

  14. Oops that was meant to be on the Vegas post!! But I’m just seeing the Maxi dress post now and it looks FABULOUS!

  15. Beautiful dress and earrings, great look 🙂

  16. Love it! Maxi dresses are my favorite because they are so easy. I can throw one on with some jewelry and I will look dressy while still being totally comfortable 🙂

  17. I love how you can pair a maxi dress with nice sandals and it still looks really put together and chic! love your outfit!

  18. OH My!! This is an awesome dress and it looks fab on you!! I love how you styled it with the tiered earrings and bangles! It’s also cool how the white sandals pop from under the dress!
    -Natasha @ Lovely You

  19. […] OOTD: How to Wear Striped Maxi Dresses (Part One) […]

  20. […] OOTD: How to Wear Striped Maxi Dresses (Part One) (freeurcloset.wordpress.com) […]

  21. […] OOTD: How to Wear Striped Maxi Dresses (Part One) (freeurcloset.wordpress.com) […]

  22. […] In Part One of the post, I’ve shown you how to style your striped maxi for daytime, using a $100, Calvin Klein maxi masterpiece: […]

Leave a Reply

