35 Comments

DIY: When Life Hands You Lemons…

DIY Lemon Dress 8Let’s make a lemon dress!

I was shopping around for the perfect summer dress – a dress that is casual yet can be worn to a summer party or barbecue. I fell in love with Alice and Olivia’s lemon print dress pictured below, but the price was way too steep for my taste (400 buckaroos, ouch!). Inspired by Alice and Olivia’s design, I decided to do it myself and create a “Natasha lemon print dress knock-off” for a total cost of $50 (including fabric, needle, and thread)!

Alice Olivia Lemon Dress

Alice and Olivia Dress from mytheresa.com

Finding fabric for the dress was the tough part. The fruit prints most fabric stores carry are not really flattering material for a dress. I found my fabric from an online site called Spoonflower. Spoonflower is a great concept – you choose your design/print of choice from hundreds of unique designs, created by other people, and order it on the fabric of your choice. You can even make your own design and order the fabric.

Here is my lemon print fabric from Spoonflower and I used Simplicity pattern 1609 (for an A-line cut):

Lemon Dress

I won’t bore you with the sewing details, so I am showing you the finished dress!

DIY Lemon Dress 4 DIY Lemon Dress DIY Lemon Dress 6 DIY Lemon Dress 10 DIY Lemon Dress 3

What do you think of my lemony creation? Hit or miss?

A big thank you to all of you who liked and followed our FB & Twitter and entered our Jumpsuit Glam Giveaway.

And the winner is: Style Salvation! Congrats!

NatSignature

35 comments on “DIY: When Life Hands You Lemons…

  1. Super cute lemon dress…great work! 🙂

  2. Holy, I can’t believe you made this! I LOVE it. So wonderful!
    xo

  3. Those are just gorgeous dress and I love it – A pair of black or multi-colored wedges will do justice to this lovely dress.

  4. Definitely a hit ! I fell in love with Alice + Olivia’s “Candice” dress too but your “lemons-printed” dress is fab too, you’re so good at DIY !!! XOXO

  5. wow, amazing. Did you used a sweing machine or did you swew by hand?

  6. So cute! I love the back 🙂

  7. I can’t believe you made that dress – it is stunning! I would love a basic tutorial on how to sew from a pattern. I am so bad at that. again…LOVELY dress! xo

  8. Wow, I think you found your calling!

  9. Great interpretation of the lemon dress. It made me remember how fun it is to sew your own dress. Very nice stying, too.

  10. I love your dress! And I’m a huge Spoonflower fan (I even sell my own designs there). What a great interpretation of your original inspiration!

    • Thank you! Spoonflower is a wonderful site..I’m glad I stumbled upon it. What sort of designs do you create? Have you ever ordered their fabric? I was really impressed by the fabric quality.

  11. Such simple style and elegance … I so wish that I could sew but that will never happen. Perfect summer dress …

  12. I absolutely love the back! Such an adorable dress 🙂

  13. Gorgeous! Not to mention that the flowers in the hair are so elegant!

  14. Very cute vintage-style dress!

  15. Good job! I like the white color you put for the design in the back. Beautiful!

  16. wow!! amazing dress, I’m so jealous! definitely inspired to start making my own dresses now!
    xx

  17. You hit 🙂 girl, the finishing dress is awesome ! You did e very good job and I love a lot also the back of it !

  18. Wow, I love the dress. it looks lovely on you. I wanna make a dress now!

Leave a Reply

