23 Comments

Blog Love: Fashion Over Forty

Women are most fascinating between the ages of 35 and 40 after they have won a few races and know how to pace themselves. Since few women ever pass 40, maximum fascination can continue indefinitely.” – Christian Dior

I love finding fabulous fashion and beauty blogs written by ladies who are 35+. When Nensi and I started out, I thought most bloggers were fresh-faced gals in their 20s. As I started searching and following blogs, I realized that this was not the case. I was surprised to find that fashion blogs come in all ages, sizes, ethnicities, and styles.

As a woman who is well into her (late) 30s, I am especially happy to discover older female bloggers who embrace their age with confidence and who show me that personal style gets better with time.

Here are just a handful of blogs we love to read and which prove that beauty is ageless:

Not Dressed as Lamb – A beautiful woman with exceptional fashion sense. Catherine’s take on how to dress in your 40s and her use of color in her outfits is wonderful and refreshing.

Blue Hue Wonderland – Anne has a great sense of style and we love how she wears patterns and colors. She also has a great eye for finding consignment clothes which she incorporates into her outfit posts. Her blog also has a fun factor and is really engaging.

Lady Of Style – We recently found Annette’s blog and we love her elegant and classic look. She certainly is a “lady with impeccable style”.

Advanced Style – New York-based Advanced Style features street fashion from women, mostly over the age of 60. Their tagline is:  “proof from the wise and silver-haired set that personal style advances with age” and who are we to argue since the featured photos prove how fashionably fabulous these ladies are!

That’s Not My Age – Proof that style begins at 40, that’s the blog’s mantra, and one we are really happy to hear since we will be joining the club someday soon!

The Citizen Rosebud has compiled a 40+ blogroll on her website. The list includes some fabulous blogs worth checking out.

Sig

23 comments on “Blog Love: Fashion Over Forty

  1. LOVE this 🙂 checking all of their blogs out 🙂

    marija from http://www.allthingslady.wordpress.com

  2. Awesome! I will check those stylish ladies out soon. Thank you for sharing.

  3. I love this, 40 and looking fierce.

  4. Looking forward to the fabulous 40s what great inspiration.

    Thanks for sharing.

  5. 3 snaps all around! Love this! Age is just a number, the heart and mind is where it matters! Work it ladies!

  6. Love this post! Style truly is ageless and Not Dressed as Lamb is fabulous!
    XOXO

  7. So true!! I’m 52, and it’s a constant challenge (in a fun way, usually) to put together looks that are age-appropriate at the same time as being modern, youthful, and most importantly, self-expressive.

    • Exactly. I do believe that with age comes a confidence in your own style – and confidence is the best accessory 😉

      • Indeed! As I’ve written, our style is (or should be) evolving along with us. And we can only hope that fashion can keep up! I’m lucky, because I can make my own clothes, and get the styles I want that way, but I’m still acutely aware of the issues for women of a certain age who don’t want to just quietly become invisible.

  8. I checked all the blogs, liked them but I loved Advanced age and the unique style of all the woman.

  9. love this post! I hope that when I’m over 40 I’ll be as fabulous as these women! xx

  10. These stylish ladies show that, like a good champagne, the older you get the better you look !!! Thanks for sharing ! XXX

  11. Love this post a lot and it doesn’t mean when you are over 40 that you can’t be stylish or can be a fashion guru, I think you can be hotter and fashionable as never before 🙂

Leave a Reply

